Home  > About Qatar  
General Information About Qatar    

Formal Name: State of Qatar


The State of Qatar lies halfway along the West Coast of the Arabian Gulf, east of the Arabian Peninsula between 24 degrees 27 minutes and 26 degrees 10 minutes north – and at 50 degrees 45 minutes to 51 degrees 40 minutes east. Its territory comprises a number of islands including Halul, Al Shat, Shira’wa and others.

Land Area

It is a peninsula that extends northward covering an area of 11606.8 Sq. Km.


Qatar has a desert climate of hot summer and relatively warm winter. In summer, the temperature ranges between 25 and 46 degrees centigrade. Rainfall in winter is minimal and on average does not exceed 75.2 mm per year.

Capital City

Doha is the capital city, the seat of government and the location of the main commercial and financial institutions. Situated halfway along the East Coast of the peninsula, the city is an important cultural and commercial center with a vast commercial seaport and a modern international airport that link the country to the rest of the world. More than half of the population lives in Doha.


The population of Qatar is estimated at 744,000 according to the 2004 census, compared to about 522 thousand counted in 1997 census. 83% of the population lives in Doha and its suburb, al-Rayyan.

Religion and Language

Islam is the official religion of the state and Shari’a (Islamic law) is the main source of legislation. Arabic is the official language. English is widely spoken.


The official currency is the Qatari Riyal (QR), which is divided into 100 dirhams. The Exchange parity has been set at the fixed rate of US $ = 3.65QR's.

Public Holidays

  • Pride and Loyalty Day: 18 December in every year.
  • Eid Al-Fitr: 4 days from 1st to 4th of Shawwal of al-Hijrah.
  • Eid Al-Adha: 5 days from 10th to 15th of Zilhijjah of al-Hijrah.
  • Friday and Starday as a weekend
  Terms & Conditions  | Accessibility  
  All rights reserved © 2009 Statistics Authority